Navadurga: 9 Form of Durgamata You Worship Every Dashain

Navaratri, also known as the “Nine Nights of Durga Mata,”; Navadurga

One of the most sacred and eagerly awaited festivals in Hindu culture. During this period, devotees across Nepal and around the world come together to celebrate and worship the nine divine forms of Goddess Durga. The significance of Navaratri extends beyond religious observance, delving into the depths of astrology, spirituality, and the changing seasons. In this blog post, we will explore why Navaratri is so special and dive into the nine forms of Durga Mata that are worshiped during this auspicious festival.

5 things to know about Navaratri

Origin: Durga Mata, often referred to as Maa Durga, is believed to be the embodiment of the brilliance of major Hindu deities including Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwar. This combination of divine powers signifies His supreme power and importance.

Astral Significance: Navratri falls at a time when the astrological and astronomical positions in the galaxy are considered favorable for prayers and sadhanas to reach the astral realms without distortion. This makes the festival a spiritually significant period.

Creation and the Three Gunas: According to Hindu thought, Goddess Durga is hailed as the originator of the three worlds, representing the feminine energy that gives birth to creation. He embodies all three qualities: sattva (purity), rajas (passion), and tamas (inertia), reflecting the balance of energy in the universe.

Spiritual Fasting: Navratri gives people a religious reason to fast. This practice is believed to have physical and subtle spiritual benefits. Fasting is considered as a means of purifying the body and mind while enhancing spiritual connection.

Seasonal and Inner Changes: Navaratri coincides with the changing of seasons, reflecting the inner chemistry of human beings. It is believed that these changes influence our physical and mental well-being, making the festival even more significant.

Nine Forms of Durga Mata

Durga Puja, Navaratri 1


The first form of NavaDurga, Shailputri, rides a bull named Nandi, holding a Trishul and a Lotus. She is associated with overcoming the negative effects of the Moon.

It is believed that the Moon (the provider of all fortunes) is governed by Goddess Shailputri. So, any bad effect of the Moon can be overcome by worshipping her.

Shailputri Mantra: Om Devi Shailaputryai Namah


The second day is dedicated to Goddess Brahmacharini, signifying love, loyalty, wisdom, and knowledge. She holds a sacred Kamandalu and wears a Rudraksha Mala.

The form of Goddess Brahmacharini signifies love, loyalty, wisdom, and knowledge.

Brahmacharini Mantra: Om Devi Brahmacharinyai Namah ॐ देवी ब्रह्मचारिण्यै नम

Durga Mata, Navadurga 2

Durga Mata day 3


 This form represents spiritual and internal power. Chandraghanta is depicted as a fierce goddess riding a tiger, with a crescent moon on her forehead.

People who have unnecessary enemies and severe obstacles in life should worship the Goddess to set themselves free.

Chandraghanta Mantra: Om Devi Chandraghantayai Namah ॐ देवी चन्द्रघण्टायै नम


Fourth form is Kushmanda, ‘Ku’ means little, ‘Ushma’ means warmth and energy and ‘Amnda” means egg, which means creator of the universe.
Devi is believed to end the darkness with her divine smile.

Kushmanda is depicted with eight to ten hands holding a trident, discus, sword, hook, mace, bow, arrow and two jars of honey (Elixir) and blood. Her one hand is always on abhayamudra from which she blesses all her devotees. She rides on a tiger.

Kushmanda Mantra: Om Devi Kushmandayai Namah ॐ देवी कूष्माण्डायै नम

Navadurga 4

Navadurga 5, Navaratri


The fifth day is devoted to Skandamata, who awards devotees with salvation, power, prosperity, and treasures. She carries baby Skanda in her lap and holds lotus flowers.

 Goddess Skandamata is depicted with four hands. She carries lotus flowers in Her upper two hands. She holds baby Skanda in one of Her right hands and keeps the other right hand in Abhayamudra. 

Skandamata Mantra: Om Devi Skandamatayai Namah ॐ देवी स्कन्दमातायै नम


 Katyayani, a form of Shakti, is known for her power in fixing marriages and ensuring harmony in married life.

Goddess Katyayani is a form of Shakti. She is considered most violent forms of Goddess Parvati. A girl facing issues for fixing a marriage can pray Maa Katyayani to obtain a happy and smooth marriage life. She ensures harmony and peace in married life. 

Navaratri; Navadurga



The most ferocious avatar of NavaDurga, Kalaratri, is known for destroying ignorance and darkness from the universe. She rides on a donkey and carries deadly weapons.


Her complexion is dark black and She rides on a donkey. She is depicted with four hands. Her right hands are in Abhayamudra and Varadamudra. She carries a sword and deadly iron hook in her left hands.

Kalaratri Mantra: Om Devi Kalaratryai Namah ॐ देवी कालरात्र्यै नम


Goddess Mahagauri has the power to fulfill devotees’ desires and brings relief from suffering. She is associated with peace and endurance.

She is the Goddess who denotes peace and endurance. It is said that worshiping her will clean the devotee`s heart and make him pious.She has four arms, holding a Trishul in one of her right hands and depicts the Abhayamudra with the other right hand. She carries a tambourine or Damaru in one left hand and depicts the Varadamudra or kamandalu in her other left hand.

Navadurga 8

Navadurga, Navaratri,


The final form, Siddhidatri, is considered the original form of Maa Parvati. She is depicted with four hands and sits on a lotus, riding a lion.

 Goddess Siddhidatri sits on Kamal and rides on the lion. She is depicted with four hands. She has Gada in the one right hand, Chakra in the other right hand, lotus flower in the left hand and Shankh in the other left hand.

Siddhidatri Mantra: Om Devi Siddhidatryai Namah (ॐ देवी सिद्धिदात्र्यै नम)

Overall, Navaratri is a time of great spiritual significance and devotion. It allows us to connect with the divine energy of Durga Mata and worship her in her various forms. As we celebrate these nine nights, we not only honor the goddess but also align ourselves with the changing seasons and the deeper rhythms of the universe. The festival offers a unique opportunity for self-reflection, purification, and spiritual growth, making it truly special in the Hindu calendar.

Embrace the Divine Feminine with Navaratri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *